Catholocism Wow!

27 11 2004

So a priest, a rabbi and Bugs Bunny walk into a bar…

Seriously, today I experienced catholic mass for the first time ever. It got me thinking of a few things, and I had a few weird things in my head changed.

For one, masses are not held in Latin and are not full of dead monotonic chants. Apparently, that sort of Mass is only for the Pope. He can have it. I was amazed that while they do sing in catholic mass, the songs were more or less upbeat. At times, they almost resembled normal church songs. Wierd. All in all, I would say that catholics just have a lot of extra things they need to do to feel close to God. Being doused in holy water, kneeling when entering or leaving the main worship area, that self blessing thing, communion are all things that I would say are symbolic, and is more than any of the other relgious factions do.

One of the other things I though about is that I did not grow up catholic. I am, however, of the Mexican-American decent which in general means you are also catholic. I just wondered how different my life would have been had I been catholic (and spoke spanish). More food for thought for a different post.

I must end with the observation that there are lots of white catholics (I was on the non-hispanic side of town) and they are a little more upeat than I ever gave them credit for being…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

