The Desert is Too Hot

12 07 2006

My wife and I have been debating and complaining more than usual about the area we have just moved into, and we are now ready for a change.  Luckily, I work at a great company, and I can move between sites without too many managerial roadblocks.

I have lived in Arizona for most of my life. I would estimate that I have spent 95% of my life under sunny skies. Currently, my family and I live in Gilbert, Arizona.  It has rained about 3 times total since we moved into our current house.  We have lived here for more than 6 months. It’s not that sunny weather is all bad, but when your daily high is above 110 degrees Fahrenheit, well, there’s not much you can do to enjoy the sun.

For a couple of years I managed to escape the heat and experience a true 4 seasoned climate in Boulder, Colorado. I experienced two winters complete with snow.  Every time I walked in the snow, I relished the experience. It was cold, but it was something I had never had the chance to live through. I would walk to the bus stop to go to work in sub-freezing temperatures. Of course I didn’t like being freezing cold, but I never hated it as I do the extreme heat.

Now, I have a family and an opportunity to provide an environment that I wish I had when I was growing up. My wife and I have decided to take a huge risk and move to Oregon. We have pondered the idea ever since we moved into our current house, but only now that summer has arrived that we have been particularly motivated to act on our feelings.

We will be visiting the Portland area during the Labor day weekend to look for houses and to learn more about the area. Hopefully, the family will like it, because I need a place where I can ride my bike in the afternoon without fear of becoming burned toast.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

