Happy Birthday

22 09 2006

I don’t always toot my own horn, but I thought I would be a little reflective about my 29th birthday. It’s always fun to look back and see what happened on your birthday in history, but I thought I would look back and see what happened to me in my history.

Twenty-nine; sometimes I still can’t believe that I’m still not 21, because it seems like only yesterday. But things have definately changed:

29 Years ago, I was born in Tucson, Arizona at University Medical Center. It was a thursday, and I think it rained. Maybe that’s why I enjoy rain so much.

24 Years ago, I started kindergarden at Mission Manor Elementary in Tucson. I remember those years fondly as it was a time when I was always the smart kid in class, and things came easy to me. I was not the popular one though, as I was also the shy kid in class.

20 Years ago, my parents tried an experiement and moved the family to California, only to return shortly thereafter. While it was a pain in the butt at the time, I think back on that as the reason certain other things happened in my life. Those were good things.

15 Years ago, after a year of waiting, I was finally able to get into University High School in Tucson, Arizona. I made a lot of friends there, a lot of which I keep in regular contact with. The only reason I was even able to go here was because on the move back from California, we moved into the Tucson Unified school district, of which UHS was a part.

11 Years ago, 4 years of high school were over, and it was time to start preparing for the rest of my life. I went to the University of Arizona in Tucson, and would finish with the first university degree in my family. I graduated with a degree in Computer Engineering.

6 Years ago, after school, I had landed a job at IBM in Boulder, Colorado. This would be the first time I was on my own, and it was a rather scary experience. Two years later, my project would be canceled, and I would once again return to Arizona.

5 years ago, I was a large overwieght guy looking for something better in his life. I decided to take the plunge and start riding my bike to work. With that, I consider myself to have lived a different life than I would have had I not lost wieght.
2 Years ago, I was in Tucson in a job with which I was not happy. I had a wife and a new daughter. I had grown up, but I was still in Tucson.

1.5 Years ago, I was hired by Intel. Intel has been a great and rewarding experience. I have now grown up and have been extremely happy since then.

Now, I feel that I am the cumulation of the many important events in my life (many of which are not listed here). I have broken free of many things that I would never though of as holding me back, and I have found new challenges to becoming older and wiser. Hopefully, I have learned past lessons well enough so that meeting future challenges becomes more managable.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

