Jealousy

23 10 2006

We knew it was coming sooner or later. Eliana was the first child, and had 100% of my attention. That is, of course, until I had to share time with her sister, Annabelle. Sibling rivalry is not uncommon, and in a way, can be healthy for them. But I never thought it would come so soon.

Recently, Annabelle has started to stand straight up, without assistance for about 10 seconds. When she is standing on the bed, and falls down, she lets out a great big baby laugh. I have to admit, it’s pretty darn cute. So, while I’m laughing and giving some attention to Annabelle for her new found achievment, Eliana is watching both I and her mom almost ignore her. Now, from my point of view, we are not: we hold Eliana back long enough so Annabelle doesn’t get hurt, but we help her onto the bed as soon as Annabelle has taken a seat. The proof that Eliana is jealous is in her next actions. She slowly gets on all fours, and crawls up to her mother’s belly like her younger sister. She slowly and wearily stands up, just like her sister. And then lets go of her mom’s support, widely opening her arms. She then says “I did it”.

I saw this as a cry for attention, but really, Eliana get so much of my attention already, I am not sure what she is looking for. All I can do for now is to make sure that I am giving them both the amount of attention they need at any given time. I know that neither child will take a backseat to the other, as I want both of them to feel the love and pride and joy me and my wife have for both of them.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

