Loosing Fitness

25 10 2006

I grew up in a family of large people. Almost all my relatives are most likely considered medically obese. This doesn’t bode well for me, and my next of kin.  I have always had a problem with my weight. When I finished college, I tipped the scales at a hefty 230 pounds. I’m only 5′ 11″. After college, I had gained a little more weight, getting all the way up to 240 pounds, thinking all along that I was 1) meant to be large, and 2) not all that large either. I was diluting myself. I was also dealing with diabetes, which I attest to being directly related to my weight.

I don’t remember exactly when I realized it, but saw my future and there were two paths.  One was to keep going the way things were, and to live life as a the fat guy. Status quo. The other path was one filled with activity and just not being inside all the time. I made a tough mental decision that my life wasn’t destined to be lived from an extra large body. I could go do things that were fun and more meaningful than watching TV. It wasn’t easy, because at first, I was still fat, but still looking for way to get out of the rut.  Then I turned to my bike. Since then, I’ve ridden across the Rocky Mountains, from Seattle to Portland, around the perimeter of Tucson 4 times, and put in thousands of miles on my way to a healthier me. Recently, I’ve been cleared of all traces of diabetes by my doctor due to the sole fact that I started riding my bike.

But, now things are different. My wife and I have two small children.  Being a caring and responsible parent, I don’t want to leave them alone, or only with their mother. It’s not fair to her to always watch the kids.  However, I am nearing the end of the free ride, as I am slowly starting to gain back some of the weight I had lost. I was a stable 195 for several months. While I need to get down to 175, I was still kicking butt on my bike, and feeling as healthy as ever prior to this year. Now that the number is approaching 200, warning bells are going off in my head. My cycling has suffered because of the lack of training, which is a direct result of spending time with the kids.

I love my kids, and I don’t blame my recent struggle with my weight on them. However, the time it takes to play with them, get them in bed, and sleeping (the sleeping part being the toughest) takes away from time which I can spend exercising.  Sure, I know what you’re thinking “How do you have so much time to blog, but not exercise?”. Well, I blog throughout the day, or when I have a free moment, usually late at night. Late night exercise doesn’t work for me though.

As I aim for a decent result in this year’s El Tour de Tucson, I only hope I can find a way to exercise on a more regular basis so that my kids will have a slim, trim and fit dad to play with when they get older.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

