Ho, Ho, Ho

11 12 2006


Whenever I think of taking my kids to visit Santa Claus these days, I always picture the classic scene from the movie A Christmas Story where Ralphie visits Santa. Once Ralphie gets up to see Santa, Santa was not in a very good mood. The view from Raphie’s height was very fisheyed and distorted. He was instantly nervous the moment he had the opportunity to recite his wish list to the man in the big red suit.

This is almost what it seemed like yesterday when I took Eliana to see Santa one more time. Last weekend, we went to visit Santa at an Intel sponsored holiday event. The Santa there was great, but Eliana and Annabelle were not very cooperative. This time, I only took Eliana. The line was short, and I tried to prepare Eliana by letting her get a good look at him before walking up. But, her turn came up very quickly, and once everyone cleared the way, I could see her eyes get larger, and she froze. I recognized this reaction instantly, and grabbed her hand and calmly walked with her up to the sleigh. I told her to tell Santa what she wanted for Christmas. I’m not sure if this Santa had the best response, but I was expecting something like “Well, you’ve been a good girl this year, and I’ll make sure my elves put what you need in my sleigh for you.” I’m not too sure what I heard, because I had stepped away to take the pictures at that point, but I think this Santa was pretty tired. It was the end of the day after all.

Anyway, Eliana was a little better to take her picture this time, and I was able to get few good shots. I think I forgot to give Eliana and Santa a photo countdown. Well, I’ll get a good Santa picture with the kids one of these years.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

