I Don’t Know What I’m Doing

16 12 2006

I was talking with a coworker, and fellow parent the other day, when he mentioned to me a comment his wife had made recently:

“When it comes to being a parent, I don’t know what I’m doing”

This is probably what all parents feel, at least upon the arrival of their first child.  I know this is how I felt when Eliana was on her way, and honestly, I have to question may actions and decisions in regards to my children all the time. Truth be told, I am learning about this whole parenting thing as I go along.

But, my follow-up to this comment was that while we all don’t know what we’re doing, we do know how our parents did, and hopefully can still use them as a resource. My personal parenting method isn’t perfect, but I do know that I have goals for my kids, even though they are too young to have goals of their own. It is these goals, as well as my personal experiences and values that guide my judgement.  All my actions are based of off 3 factors: their safety, their character development, and their happiness.

In my 3 years as a parent, I have definately learned quite a bit about being a parent, and there are many more lessons to come, but while I still don’t know what I’m doing many times, I can be sure of myself and my decisions because they are based on my own personal life-guiding principals and values.

powered by performancing firefox

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

