Finally, Some Exercise

5 01 2007

It had been a good long while since I last exercised. It was probably a month ago when I last tried to ride my bike to work. It was so cold (cold enough in Arizona) that when I arrived at work, the areas of my skin that were the slightest bit exposed to the cold windy air had turned red. And those spots itched. A lot. And when I went into the shower, these small areas seemed to only get even more itchy with the warm water. But, the itchiness subsided after an hour or so as I arrived at work and began to take my mind off my physical pain, and concentrated on the tasks at hand.

Two days ago, a friend of mine came over with his trainer and bike. We had earlier agreed that the best way to stay on a trainer is with company. It was great to get back on the bike, even if it was only for one hour on my trainer.  Sometimes I forget just how much I enjoy being on two wheels, rolling along and taking in nature’s scenery. (Although, there isn’t much I want to see around here.) Nevertheless, after an hour of mental and physical pain, I felt better. Workouts always feel better when they are complete. And, perhaps this is just my own wishful thinking, or self perception gone awry,  but I always feel like I am just a little bit slimmer after a workout. My skin is slightly more firm, and I feel that I look in better shape. Perhaps its just the endorphins trying to convince me to torture myself again, but if the end result is the realization of those images, I think I will be able to stick with it. Time will tell.

And, one tool that I feel will help me stick with the program is the Nike+iPod running adapter for my Nano. I heard about this, and had recently seen a commercial, and I thought if anything was going to motivate me to run, this was probably going to be my best option.  I was not disappointed. I set my first workout to 30 minutes, and ran on the treadmill. The treadmill is pretty boring, as is riding on my trainer for an hour, but with the music, and the vocal cues, this was quite neat.  The one feature that I thought was very awesome was that this adapter cues up the music to correspond with the time of the workout.  That is, as I was ending the 30 minutes of my workout, the last song I was listening to had ended right at 30 minutes. I had even skipped a song far prior to the end of the workout so it had to figure it out on the fly. It’s definitely the little things that make you happy.

powered by performancing firefox

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

