Busy Body

7 02 2007

If I haven’t posted enough on this blog lately, it’s because I’ve had much more stuff to deal with lately.  That is, I’ve been even more busy that usual.  It’s not that I make up stuff to keep busy, mostly I am doing things with my two daughters. I’ve been able to break new ground in getting Annabelle to sleep, I’ve learned a sort of new trick, and heard some funny things from my kids lately, and it’s all been fun, but so tiring.  I’ve tried my best to keep my new schedule on track, but I hope I don’t wear myself out.

Annabelle has been a challenge to put to bed every night up until that last couple of weeks. For most of her first year, she just kept crying. And crying, and crying.  There was no apparent reason.  We changed her diaper, we gave her food, and she wasn’t in any physical pain that we could see to determine. Everything pointed to her just not wanting to go do sleep.  Or…not wanting to go to sleep alone. So, while we tried on and off to put her to bed in her crib, most of the time, she ended up in our bed because her mom didn’t want to hear her cry. It was quite annoying to know that I had put her down for the night in her crib only to have her waking up in the middle of the night, wanting to play, or kicking my head.  But, a couple of weeks ago, I finally had enough spare time and energy at night to put her down in her crib.  This time was different. When she cried, I got up and just started to pat her on her back (she likes to sleep face down, like me). Lately, I’ve started humming to her while patting her back.  All At first, it took about 30 minutes to an hour to get her to sleep.  Just last night, it took all of 10 minutes. She did wake up again about an hour later and cried, but that was because she had some mucus coming out of her nose. After I cleaned her up, I held her for a few minutes, and she rested her head on my shoulder. I honestly didn’t want to put her down; I wanted to bring her into the bed with me and her mom.  I guess I was feeling nice last night.  But, I knew what was best for her, and I put her back in the crib. I think she was very understanding because she didn’t fight me when I put her in the crib. She has learned that is where she sleeps. She went back to sleep within a couple of minutes. Finally.

Eliana, on the other hand has had great sleeping habits for quite a while. However, I have felt that she trusts me much more than her mom. Maybe it’s a classic case of daddy’s little girl, but last night, before bedtime, Eliana wanted me to put her hair into two pony tails.  I had given this a try last year when her hair was shorter only to result in a messy looking two year old.  I gave it a try, and while I still had a messy result, her hair was tied back, and out of her face. She was happy.

Also, while playing with Eliana, she has said to me: “I like you”.  She was smiling and laughing at the time because I do my weird fathering laugh-inducing gestures, so it sounded very nice. But, just the words sounded odd. I mean, I truely hope she likes me. My goal as a father has always been to have fun with the kids, help them to become intelligent people and keep them safe.  I think I’m doing pretty good. Eliana and Annabelle will tell me if something is going bad.

Annabelle has been talking lately as well. I also think she is starting to be as fond of me as Eliana.  As soon as I get home, I hear her saying “Daddy” nonstop. I’m pretty sure she knows what that word means, because she says it with such excitement. 

I can only say that I’m glad to be such a fun and positive influence on my children.  I don’t usually think of it this way, but I’m helping to shape two minds to grow into new people, and to have the kind of influence and effect on them is good, but I love more that they have such a good time with me, and are eager to spend time with me.

powered by performancing firefox

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

