Now We’ve Done It

11 06 2007

In our never-ending quest to escape the desert heat, we have been looking for a place in Oregon for quite a while now. When we first looked around, we looked at a variety of properties: in downtown, on the waterfront, new construction, previously owned homes. All were nice, the sticker shock is what surprised us the most. Wasn’t this supposed to be a buyer’s market? Well, I guess not in the Portland area.

So, on my last business trip to the Portland area, I took a short trip with our realtor and took a look at a place that she had recommended to us. Timberland is a new community of single family condos and townhomes. if there are such things. So, on the last trip, after looking at most of the models and floor plans, I was a little unimpressed. Not that the models weren’t good, but they didn’t fit our family needs all that well. But, just before we left, we saw one last model, and I was sold. It’s about half as large as our current place, and it is actually smaller than our house was in Tucson, but I think it will still fit our family due to its shape, spacing and storage areas.

We’re basically in a no lose situation, as we want to see how the market improves (or not) over the next few months (since this is new construction). I truely hope we can make the move to a more pleasant climate.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Actions

Information

One response

22 06 2007
Joe Smith

Well, good luck, Saul! Oregon will definately be cooler, but the rain can sure depress some folks. I had no problem with it for the 30+ years I lived there, though.

The real estate market is outrageous in the Portland area…I doubt I could afford the same house there that I bought in Colorado.

Another thing, Washington County exploded in growth during the 90’s and the infrastructure did not expand to keep up. What city/county ever does? Hopefully things have caught up there.

Regards,

-Joe

Leave a Reply

