Oh, So Cute

16 03 2008

It’s not easy being the only male in a household dominated by females. Even if two of them aren’t even in school yet. When my first daughter was born, I was constantly asked the question “Don’t you want a boy?”. I was pretty astonished by the fact that it was the 21st century, and I still got this question. Still, gender bias aside, I can understand that some people do prefer one gender over the other. I maintained that as long as the baby has 10 fingers, 10 toes and he or she will call me “Dad”, I’m ok with that.  Even when our second was born, I still heard the occasional “Ok, now you guys need to try for a boy.” I was still shocked. I was having so much fun with the older sister, despite her girlie-ness, that I just figured another would be twice the fun (and twice as many diapers, I suppose). Either way, over the past 2 and 4 years,my daughters have grown to show me that there is one thing that I cherish the most: our quality time together.

Despite my lack of gender preference, I found myself in a few awkward situations this past week. The other day, while I was on a business trip to Oregon, I managed to find my way into a Gymboree store.  Gymboree is a child’s clothing store with styles that their mom and I both like. As I was alone without kids accompanying me. I found myself looking at the baby girls clothes thinking to myself

“gosh, that’s a cute dress. But, it wouldn’t match with Annabelle’s leggings.

Wait, you’re a man..er…Man, make sure you don’t say that out loud”

While I’m not really one to be macho, I still have some semblance of male identity. Needless to say, having two girls has had a little toll on that piece of my identity. But, I do find myself appreciating all the pink and girlie things that have come may way, and look forward to the slew of new girlie adventures I’ll be experiencing in the future as my girls grow.

And, I just wanted to reiterate that even after this little visit to my feminine side, it doesn’t matter that my children are boys or girls. They’re both so young, that gender isn’t a huge issue…yet. After all, I’m their dad, and I am the foundation of their world (I guess their mom has some foothold into that too…) Times will change, but for now, I’m just going to revel in the fact they know they can count on my, and that they are healthy and smart children.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

